Permanently delete or deactivate your Instagram profile

Copy link
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
iPad App Help
We’re gradually updating people to Meta Accounts. You may see either Accounts Center or Meta Account settings as the place to manage your account settings.
You can permanently delete your Instagram profile from your phone or computer.

Export your information

Before deleting your profile, you may want to log in and export a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Instagram. After your profile has been deleted, you will not have access to Instagram’s Export your information tool.
When you delete your profile, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. If you'd just like to take a break, you can temporarily deactivate your profile instead.

Permanently delete your account from Accounts Center

If you see Manage accounts at the bottom of Accounts Center:
  1. Click More icon, represented by a hamburgerMore in the bottom left, then click Settings iconSettings.
  2. Click Accounts Center, then click Profiles and personal details.
  3. Click Manage next to the account type you want to delete.
  4. Click Deactivation or deletion.
  5. Click the account you'd like to permanently delete.
  6. Click Delete account, then click Continue.
If you see Accounts at the bottom of Accounts Center:
  1. Click More icon, represented by a hamburgerMore in the bottom left, then click Settings iconSettings.
  2. Click Accounts Center at the top left of your screen.
  3. Click Personal details, under Account Settings.
  4. Click Account ownership and control.
  5. Click Deactivation or deletion.
  6. Choose the account or profile you want to delete.
  7. Select Delete account.
  8. Click Continue then follow the instructions to confirm.

Sign up again to get back on Instagram

After your profile is deleted, you can sign up again with the same username or add that username to another profile as long as it hasn't been taken by a new person on Instagram.
After 30 days of your profile deletion request, your profile and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve your information. During those 30 days the content remains subject to Instagram’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and is not accessible to other people using Instagram.
Note: The number of days that you can cancel an account deletion varies by region.

Deletion can take up to 90 days

It may take up to 90 days to complete the deletion process after it begins. Copies of your content may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event. We may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts. Learn more about this in our Privacy Policy.
If your profile is removed for violating Community Standards, you may not be able to sign up again with the same username.

Why Instagram can't delete a profile for you

For security reasons, we can't delete a profile for you. You’ll need to be able to log into your profile to request deletion. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.

Yes
No

Other ways to get help

Chat with Meta AI support assistant
Resolve issues, make changes and get support in real time